No, at this time Pennsylvania law does not permit smoking cannabis. Currently, ingestion methods include vaporizing, oral/edibles, topical, tinctures and oils.
No, Pennsylvania does not reciprocate other states’ IDs.
An official summary note documenting your condition will suffice. Office notes are copies of the medical charting from your doctor visits and evaluations. MRIs do not qualify. We do have form which can be emailed to you for your Doctor to complete.
Yes, you must have medical records documenting your qualifying condition(s). Our doctor cannot certify a patient or submit a medication recommendation without proper documentation.
In order to be eligible for the Pennsylvania Medical Marijuana Card, you must be diagnosed by a physician with one of the following qualifying conditions: Addiction Substitute Therapy, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS), Autism, Cancer, Crohn’s Disease, Dyskinetic and Spastic Movement Disorder, Epilepsy, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, Huntington’s Disease, Inflammatory Bowel Disease, Multiple Sclerosis (MS), Neuropathies, Parkinson’s Disease, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), Seizures, Sickle Cell Anemia, Spinal Cord Damage, Severe chronic or intractable pain.
No, someone under 18 may receive an evaluation if accompanied by a legal guardian/representative.
The fee for the card is $50. Individuals providing evidence that they participate in the following government programs may qualify for a discounted medical marijuana ID card: Medicaid, PACE/ PACENET, CHIP, SNAP, and WIC.
No, if you don’t qualify or receive a recommendation, you will receive a full refund of your money.
No, due to federal regulation, there is no insurance coverage at this point. We accept cash, credit card, check or HSA (Health Savings Account).
An initial medical evaluation costs $225. All follow-up visits are $175. Payment plans and military discounts are also available. Call for more details.
You required by the state to visit every year; however, you may be required to follow-up sooner per your doctor’s discretion.
Your first appointment could take an hour or so. Please plan accordingly.
No, you can only receive a recommendation if our doctors feel you have a qualifying condition as defined by Pennsylvania law.
Yes, once the doctor completes your exam and confirms that you qualify, (s)he will enter you directly into the state registry, and you’ll receive your Patient ID number. Cards usually take 5-7 business days to arrive at your mailing address.
If you apply for the Assistance $25 discount it could delay the printing process 1-3 weeks.
Please bring in your valid/current Pennsylvania state driver’s license or ID card verifying that you are a resident of Pennsylvania. If you recently moved, you must bring your change of address card.
Medical documentation is required for your visit.
The Act defines a “caregiver” as an individual 21 years of age or older, unless otherwise authorized by the department, who is:
- Designated by a patient;
- A parent, legal guardian or spouse of a patient that is under the age of 18; and/or
- Designated to be a caregiver by a parent, legal guardian or spouse of an individual approved by the department if no parent or legal guardian is appropriate or available.
Caregivers must register with the department and complete a criminal history background check in order to receive a medical marijuana ID card.
Yes. Caregivers may provide care for up to five patients.
Adult patients can designate any individual as their caregiver. All caregivers must complete a background check. If you are a caregiver for a minor but not the patient’s parent, legal guardian or spouse, you will need to be designated as a third-party caregiver. This is done by filling out and ‘authorization to designate a third-party caregiver’ form. Once completed, you will upload the form back in your caregiver profile.
If the patient is under the age of 18, they are required to have a caregiver apply on their behalf. If a patient is 18 years of age or older and able to register themselves, they may do so. If they cannot, a caregiver may register for them.
No. You should create your patient profile before obtaining a patient certification. However, to complete registration you will need a patient certification from an approved practitioner.
If you are a patient, or caregiver of a patient, you need to create a profile in the registry and complete the registration process to participate in the program.